Notices
996 Forum 1999-2005
Sponsored by:

Tranny rattle and vibration issue need advice.

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2013, 10:46 PM
iim1awh
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tranny rattle and vibration issue need advice.

So I am battling a couple of issues with my 99 996 C2.

For the record I am a Porsche newb and have only owned this 996 for a few months now. Car has 65K on it. The only change I have made to the car since I purchased it was installing a set of Fister 3.6 modded cans. It would seem unlikely that the new cans are causing the vibration issue.

1) I am starting to notice a engine vibration at around 1000 and then again at about 3400 RPM. It is most noticeable when the car is up to temp vrs when its cold. It was subtle at first but seems to be getting more noticeable.

2) There is a rattle sound coming from what i think is the front of the 6 spd gear box at idle it is not constant but comes and goes every 20 to 30 seconds.
I cannot hear it when I rev up the engine as everything seems to get washed out by the fisters.

I tried searching the forum but did not come up with anything so I figured I would ask the experts.

Thanks,

Andy

Last edited by iim1awh; 06-25-2013 at 11:03 PM.
Old 06-25-2013, 11:11 PM
fpb111
Rennlist Member

Received 96 Likes on 71 Posts

Does the car have a light weight flywheel? Does the rattle change when the clutch is pushed in? Also check the engine mounts and the trans mount. New engine mounts could make a big difference if the current ones have leaked/gone "flat"
Old 06-25-2013, 11:21 PM
iim1awh
Intermediate

I am not sure about the LW flywheel is there an easy way to tell? The rattle is not altered by pushing in the clutch. I climbed under the can and it sounds like it is coming from the very front of the tranny vrs the rear.