Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2017, 01:29 PM
Bringebaer
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Feedback on 996 with relatively high mileage

Hello Everyone,

I'm a long time lurker, now member.

I've always liked the 996 and feel that it represents a good value in terms of looks, performance and pedigree.

I am curious to see if any current 996 owners/experts would be able to provide me with any feedback on a local car (to me at least)?

Here is the link: 996 MK1 2001

The car has some cosmetic issues. Among them a cracked/scratched front bumper, some wear on shift ****, missing/destroyed cup holders, curbed wheels and is in need of a paint restoration/buff. I called LN engineering and they have no record of the IMS having been replaced. It's a 1 owner car with some service history. Since I'm not a mechanic I am looking to have PPI done.

My goal is to use it as a daily commuter and maintain it until it completely falls apart. If I could get 20k miles out of it I would be happy.

If anyone could provide me with their initial thoughts I would be most grateful.

Thank you and have a lovely day,
Bringebaer
Old 03-16-2017, 01:33 PM
Bash Hat
Three Wheelin'

Received 415 Likes on 194 Posts

What's your budget? I think you can get a nicer, lower mileage example with service records for $18-$22K. IMO worth spending a little more up front.
Old 03-16-2017, 01:40 PM
Bringebaer
Intermediate

Thank you for your reply. Yes, it seems you can get a pretty pristine example for 18-20k, but living in the city I would just hate to come back to my car dinged/scratched up. This one is a bit scruffy so I wouldn't feel so bad (if that makes sense). It also has some desirable options like the painted center console and what I believe are the sports seats (I don't like the ruffled leather seats).