Door Speaker Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2015, 01:12 AM
Pr William
Advanced

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Door Speaker Replacement

Hello,

I am new to Reenlist and a new 993 owner of a 96 coupe. I wish to replace the factory door speakers/tweeters because I believe they are no longer intact. Has anyone replaced the Nokia 5.25" with a 6.5" speaker without having to modify or trim the door panels? If so what brand/model of speaker did you buy? I read about MB Quart 6.5" DSD component that install with minor trimming. What does that mean? How minor? If I can help it I wish to reuse the factory grilles. Your experience is much appreciated.
Old 03-03-2015, 01:40 AM
Spyder_Man
Drifting

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Greets. Try using the search function.
Old 03-03-2015, 01:43 AM
grazingcow
Advanced

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

I replaced my system 3 years ago with a Kicker system with a couple of KS 525's and tweeters. the Kicker 5.25's fit without any mod but I had to build pods for the tweeters that projected out from the door panel but mounted at the stock tweeter location. I am currently in the process of upgrading the interior and building custom door panels and am putting in a 6.5 Rockford Fosgate T3652-S component system. The upholstered portion of the door would have to be cut larger to accept a 6.5 but the metal portion of the door frame does not and the hole is almost 5.5 inches in diameter. You will have difficulty reusing the grills but may be able to modify something depending on the speaker.
Old 03-03-2015, 04:31 AM
kjr914
Drifting

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

Pr William,
Welcome to RL & the 993 forum! Speaker upgrades are on my (rather long) 993 to do list as well...