Sponsored by:

993 Carrera Targa owners. I need help

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2006, 08:09 PM
Devinwhite
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 993 Carrera Targa owners. I need help

I'm looking to purchase my first Porsche. A 1996 Porsche Carrera Targa. I've been going back and forth between a 964 and 993. I'd like to hear (correspond) with some owners of a Carrera Targa. I need your help!!. I'm also new to RL and have placed a couple posts, but not much feedback. I appreciate you reply and purchase help. I can be reached at

ttreasures1@qwest.net
Old 06-17-2006, 11:28 PM
Mike J
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 71 Likes on 58 Posts

As you know the 993 and the 964 are quite different animals, and the Targa is totally different on both cars. Have you driven both cars? The 964 is less complicated but if you like the glass top Targa your only choice will be the 96-98 993's. If you get a 97 or 98 Targa there are updates to the roof that you will get. The 96 is the first year. It seems that most people have had very few issues with the roof...there are exceptions though. If the roof has problems it could cost mucho $$$. In my case I managed to have Porsche provide a brand new roof with just months left in the rust warranty...but I am an unusual case.

Once you find the car please post and we can give opinions. For example I know a few things about the roof so if you send me close up shots of the front seals, back seals, adjustment heights, etc. I can tell you if it looks normal.

Good luck and remember the chase is half the fun!!

Cheers,

Mike
Old 06-18-2006, 05:09 AM
mgianzero
Rennlist Member

Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts

Devin,

I believe one of the Targas you were evaluating was mine 1996 Targa tip. I've owned two 1996 Targas. Both have the original tops and have not needed any service work. I've read about Mike's replaced top problem on rennlist and I think he experienced a bad one.