Notices
924/931/944/951/968 Forum Porsche 924, 924S, 931, 944, 944S, 944S2, 951, and 968 discussion, how-to guides, and technical help. (1976-1995)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

"Project 944" started this week - Woo-hoo here we go!

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2015, 01:37 PM
Fronkenstein
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Project 944" started this week - Woo-hoo here we go!

Probably not all that exciting to the average 944 lister here but it's only my second 944 and its my first attempt to modify one to my expectations.

I just "finished" the mechanical resto on my 928 which, if you need a laugh, can be found at "Project 928"...

The fodder for my experimentation is a one owner 1987 944 NA in yellow as can be seen below.

The car is near pristine. I bought it at auction for $1450 not running. The problem is the PO bent the valves so out comes the engine and... well you get the rest. Bummer thing is I sold the Fuchs I had for it but I couldn't resist the ca$h a 911 guy was willing to fork over for them

I am going to stuff a turbo suspension under her, B&B the engine using euro hi-comp pistons and RarST rods that have had the big-ends modded and Clevite race bearing installed. The block will remain stock with exception to the addition of rod oilers.

Power will exit the engine via a lightweight flywheel balanced to the crank into a stock gear box and be transmitted to the road via Michelin Pilot Sports on some wheel I haven't figured out yet.

Anyway that's the plan today and it will change a hundred times between now and completion.

Looking forward to comments, critiques and questions asked and answered.

Fronkenstein
Old 09-12-2015, 06:19 AM
Fronkenstein
Burning Brakes

Anyone it there have experience with the euro version of the 944 8V engine?

I have some questions if anyone cares to assist:

Has anyone installed internal oilers to keep #2 from blowing up?

Do you know is there is any difference between a 944 and 944S crank shaft?