Sponsored by:

2008 CTT Steering rack boot full of fluid

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2018, 01:06 PM
John Welch.
Racer

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Question 2008 CTT Steering rack boot full of fluid

I had a slow power steering fluid leak that has suddenly taken a turn for the worse. I thought it might be the lines from the reservoirs (PDCC), but I couldn't see anything obvious. I then noticed fluid dripping from the passenger side tie rod and it looks like the boot on the rack has a bunch of fluid in it.

Is there anywhere else the fluid could be coming from besides the rack?
Is the rack that hard to replace? It looks like it might only be a few hours of labor that I can do in the driveway?

Last edited by John Welch.; 06-12-2018 at 01:17 PM. Reason: missing info
Old 06-12-2018, 01:53 PM
oldskewel
Burning Brakes

Received 130 Likes on 106 Posts

I have no experience with the PS on the Cayenne, but from other cars ...

The fluid is likely to be PS fluid, slowly leaking past the seal where the shaft moves. It might be slow and nothing to worry about. That is, BTW, always my first thought. There are many situations where it is not practical or cost effective to eliminate leaks. This may be one of them.