Cost of owning a 996

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2009, 10:56 PM
MattAu
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Cost of owning a 996

Hello,

I just joined the list. I am not a 996 owner but would like to become one. I drive a BMW 545i and my lease will be up soon. I am looking at getting either a 2004 996 or a 2005 997. I have some knowledge about the cars and their differences but I have a few newbie questions.

1) Is there any advantage in getting the newer 997 over the 996? Or would it be better to get the last model year 996 over the first model year 997 since all the "bugs" have been worked out?

2) What is the true ownership costs of owning a 996 or 997 that is out of warranty? What are the maintenance costs? I drive about 7-9,000 km a year. How much does a minor service and a major service cost?

3) Anyone drives a 996/997 all winter long? Of course you will need snow tires, but how does the car drives in snow and slushes? I suppose the low ground clearence can be an issue but I used to drive an Infiniti G35 and it was amazing in the snow with traction control on and a set of snow tires.

4) How much does a PPI cost at the dealer and how much does it cost at an indy?

5) Anyone learned driving manual on a Porsche? Or anyone has a 996 or 997 as his/her first manual transmission car?

I thank you in advance and I hope I will be able to join your ranks soon.
Old 07-30-2009, 11:17 PM
theiceman
Team Owner

Received 1,142 Likes on 816 Posts

why don't upi join us behind chapters any Saturday from about 10-1 on the queensway opposite sherway. There will be lots of examples of both including some guys that drive all winter.
then you can ask away all you want .
my neighbour bought his first manual car last year , a boxster, and just bought a 996 last week.
Old 07-30-2009, 11:45 PM
Turbodan
Rennlist Member

Received 535 Likes on 403 Posts

1 and 2 are very subjective.
3 yes and they are fine except in deep snow