Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   Rennlist Canada (https://rennlist.com/forums/rennlist-canada-98/)
-   -   Oil Change before/after Winter storage? (https://rennlist.com/forums/rennlist-canada/1054472-oil-change-before-after-winter-storage.html)

ggrace 02-28-2018 07:54 PM

Oil Change before/after Winter storage?

For those of you who store your cars, do you change oil before or after Winter storage?

Ronan 02-28-2018 09:24 PM

For me it’s before. I like to put the car away with clean oil

Balu 02-28-2018 09:25 PM

Before.

Pags993 02-28-2018 09:25 PM

I have it changed before storage simply to avoid the work backlog at my indy in Spring. Turn the key and go until Fall. I work in the motor oil industry and have discussed this with PhD chemists and lifelong mechanics and have heard valid arguments for both pre and post storage oil changes. I choose to avoid the Spring backlog and I hate doing oil changes myself.

Gregster 02-28-2018 09:32 PM

We do everything before.. Don't want to get clogged up with oil changes or fluid changes in the spring

Mumbles 02-28-2018 09:32 PM

After its out of storage. Now if the previous year was 10-15k then I'd probably change before storage. But for me 2-3k a year.........after storage is fine.

Local P dealer stores clients vehicles and offers a Spring oil change, wash and clean.

ggrace 02-28-2018 11:23 PM

Thanks all. I’ve done before the last two years (the extent of my 911 ownership).

petee_c 03-01-2018 12:18 AM

Wait....

You're supposed to change the oil??!

I generally let it run its course and change based on mileage.

I thought the TBA in modern oils neutralize any corrosive byproducts of combustion.

vern1 03-01-2018 12:44 AM

Originally Posted by petee_c (Post 14838168)
Wait....

You're supposed to change the oil??!

I generally let it run its course and change based on mileage.