Old 06-07-2012, 11:59 AM
Targatoo
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Ontario Insurance at the Track

Yes, this has been discussed on Rennlist:

https://rennlist.com/forums/rennlist...the-track.html

https://rennlist.com/forums/rennlist...r-de-days.html

I haven't seen anyone post the link to the Ontario Automobile Policy (O.A.P 1), which is the mandated standard for coverage. All insurance companies have to follow the definitions in this policy. For our interest the wording is:

We won't pay for loss or damage caused in an incident:
• if you use or permit the automobile to be used in a race or speed test, or for illegal activity;
• if you drive the automobile while not authorized by law; and
• if another person, with your permission, drives or operates the automobile under any of these conditions.

I didn't know that this standard existed until someone mentioned it at the local PCA dinner. Meetings are useful, just not at my work!

I'm not a lawyer and I still intend to drive with all the precaution on the track that I do on the road - try my very best to avoid a collision at all times - but I can sleep at night with this little bit of knowledge.

Drive safe,
Targatoo
Old 06-07-2012, 07:11 PM
Imo000
Captain Obvious
Super User

Received 337 Likes on 244 Posts

The definition of a race and speed test is the key here. How is it defined in the OAP?
Old 06-07-2012, 08:06 PM
jumper5836
Nordschleife Master

Received 70 Likes on 47 Posts

timed device is where they can get you.
Guys with data loggers and camcorders posting up video in the net with laps being timed. One guy at the track timing himself and you can be screwed.
Old 06-07-2012, 08:39 PM
shizzle
Rennlist Member

Received 21 Likes on 14 Posts