Trailer nose shape consensus?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2016, 08:48 AM
RickBetterley
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 37 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Trailer nose shape consensus?

Have we come to an informed consensus as to which trailer nose is best shape for mileage and stability (let's ignore interior space efficiency for now)?
Assume tow vehicle is a large crew cab pick up with a tonneau cover on the bed and trailer is a 24' bumper pull.
I'd love some data to support your comments.
Thanks
Old 03-15-2016, 10:42 AM
Quinlan
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Bueller? Bueller? Bueller? Kibort?
Old 03-15-2016, 11:16 AM
Frank 993 C4S
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 808 Likes on 494 Posts

I did my Masters Thesis on the aerodynamics of blunt objects. Unfortunately, 30 year later, I don't remember much so can't help you there
Old 03-15-2016, 11:35 AM
linzman
Rennlist Member

Received 80 Likes on 41 Posts

My used 24' ATC came with a cone on the front. I get the same gas mileage as I did with my 20' + V CargoPro. Both aluminum, both 7' interior, the ATC is probably a few hundred pounds heavier. No hard data, just going by my dash MPG indicator on a Ford F-150 Ecoboost crew cab with tonneau cover. Not sure if either helps the MPG, but the ATC feels much steadier than the V-nose did.
Old 03-15-2016, 11:51 AM
rlm328
Rennlist Member

Received 309 Likes on 206 Posts

The 3/4 ton pickups punch a pretty good size hole through the air. My best evidence of this is the bug splatter pattern on the front of my trailer which is flat. The bug splatter is pretty much limited to within about a foot or so of the edge of the trailer, clean in the middle part.
Old 03-15-2016, 12:10 PM
RickBetterley
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Originally Posted by rlm328