Road Atlanta advice

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2016, 09:36 PM
Jack667
Rennlist Member

Received 111 Likes on 59 Posts
Default Road Atlanta advice

Hi -
Please review and comment on the video. That's the main goal: some feedback.

I can be verbose at times, and I get that... So - the rest of the text below is optional!
Not sure if this belongs in "ask the Coach" or it's own thread. Going with the latter...
I've been doing DEs since 2000, and some Club Racing, and for the last ~8 years, been instructing at DEs exclusively. Max days in a season was 22, but it's pared way back since the 3 kids came along! Now, usually 0-2 events per year. Started with a 964 C4 cab, then a 944, and now a 997.1 C2S - my only pcar at this time. I've been on track with the 997 a few times. Fall of 2013 at Road ATL. 2014 was an off year - no events, then a fall 2015 day at AMP - first time there.
I went back to Road Atlanta for March 5-6 BMWCCA DE and had a blast - as always. I'd like to get back into it a bit more. I'll be back again on Monday, March 28th with Chin.
I have Harry's Lap Timer working now, so you see some data overlaid on the video. I just bought an external GPS and an OBD accessory, so expect more data, and slightly more accurate GPS next time - not that there's an issue, but for $80, why not?
Car setup: stock, daily driver coupe, with some track-oriented mods: Bilstein Damptonics, DSC Sport, RSS sways, rear control arms, dogbones, toe links. WEVO engine mounts, Guard TBD LSD, sporty street alignment. 18" OZ Allegeritas w/Nitto NT01s. Pagid Yellow/Black. Stock safety - that's the next thing to go in, but I had the 3rd radiator installed and the MantisSport 2L oil pan is going in prior to the Chin event. it does make it tough to get tossed around in the 3-point belts, etc.