Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

996 C2 PSS10 H&R Sways - settings starting point

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2014 | 02:59 PM
davidnyc
Racer

Default 996 C2 PSS10 H&R Sways - settings starting point

This is a new to me car and I have never driven it on the track.
Car: 2002 911 RWD Coupe with PSS10 and H&R adjustable sway bars.
Tires: will most likely be Hankook RS3 v2 215/255 17" (slightly wider up front than stock so may induce slightly more front end grip, less understeer?)
Me: in previous cars I ran solo/advance/instructor group. I used to drive a S2000 so very capable of handling oversteer However, I am very new to the 911 handling characteristics.
Goals: understanding corner entry, mid corner and corner exit limits.

With the above parameters, I would like to have a somewhat "neutral" initial setup and then change it accordingly to my driving style, track conditions, etc.

Questions:

What should be my initial shock settings for the PSS10's front/rear?

What should be my initial sway bar settings (front, rear)? Which sway bar holes? (the rear has three holes and the front has two)

I am assuming that fine tune changes will be within the shock settings and larger scale changes will be within the sway bar settings?
Old 12-25-2014 | 12:44 AM
jj1
Rennlist Member

I'm a previous s2k driver too. I have 2 track days on my 02 996 c2 now. My set up is bone stock with seat, brake pads (pagid yellow front, black rear) and gt3 split CAs for alignment. Car came with 225/285 Mich SS.
If PSS10 are anything like PSS9, there is no adj. Just harsh or mush. Never driven a car with 10s though. Those are some tiny tires. 996 is very different dynamically than the s2k. You have to load the fronts into the corner than ease into gas to manage exit understeer in my car. Rotates very nicely that way and has no problem putting down power at all. With those size tires it may be different though.