Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First track day in Bay Area - what club?

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2013, 06:59 PM
MaxLTV
Rennlist Member

Received 1,223 Likes on 602 Posts
Default First track day in Bay Area - what club?

I am going to try to make it to a track day for the second time since I moved to the Bay Area (the first attempt ended up with my car being rear-ended on the way to the track ). So the day I'm considering has the following available options, and I need help choosing:

Hooked on Driving @ Sonoma
Shelby Club @ Laguna Seca
NASA @ Thunderhill
CitiTech @ Buttonwillow

I am not a novice (advanced/instructor), but I'm slow at learning new tracks, and it will be my first time at any of the tracks here.

Any pros/cons of the events above I should take into account?

Thanks
Old 11-24-2013, 07:11 PM
JackOlsen
Race Car

Received 62 Likes on 48 Posts

Consider Thunderhill with NCRC. NASA events are great, but they tend to be crowded. NCRC is a bargain and it's run by some smart guys.

Sonoma is a difficult track to learn. Laguna is a little earlier, but -- like Sonoma -- there are a lot of concrete walls to hit if your learning curve hits a bump. Thunderhill has a lot of great run off. And it's a great mix of high speed dog legs and slower, more technical sections.

NCRC also goes to all of the tracks on your list. I instructed for them, years and years ago, and I never saw them miss a step.

http://www.ncracing.org/events.php
Old 11-24-2013, 07:23 PM
autosea
Rennlist Member

Received 35 Likes on 26 Posts

NASA
Old 11-24-2013, 08:09 PM
race911
Rennlist Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by autosea
NASA
Uh huh. Not unless you're in one of the race groups...............................

Concur with Jack on NCRC. 10 years now they've been doing it?

HOD, where I do instruct, also has a quality event.