Sponsored by:

Smooth vs. Rough

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2013, 09:59 AM
MikeJim
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Smooth vs. Rough

As an instructor, I have always encouraged students to make smooth steering, brake and throttle inputs. My feeling has been...the less you can do to upset the car, the better off you'll be.

A few weeks ago, I was able to ride shotgun in a Ferrari Challenge car at Watkins Glen with current Pirelli World Challenge series points leader Jack Baldwin.

Baldwin is a legend. He's won five pro championships, a Daytona 24 Hour, two 12 Hours of Sebring, and has victories on just about every major road course in America. He has championships in Trans-Am, IMSA, HSR, and Grand-Am. He ran in two International Race of Champions.

He's also one of the roughest drivers I've ever ridden with (and fastest). He literally saws on the wheel. The inputs are dramatic and violent. The car lurches. He says he's "looking for grip."

Not all fast drivers are rough drivers. Not all rough drivers are fast. And not all smooth drivers are slow. What are your thoughts on smooth versus rough?

PS- Jack will try to wrap up the Pirelli World Challenge Championship this weekend in Houston.

Old 10-03-2013, 10:04 AM
DCP
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

When I first got my Spec Miata, I had several good drivers of the type drive it with me in the car. Two of them are near the top of the local SM drivers. I was stunned by how one was smooth on inputs and gentle on brakes while the other drove aggressively.

It made it clear to me that there is more than one way to be fast.
Old 10-03-2013, 10:14 AM
Charles A. Toupin
Addict
Rennlist Member