Sponsored by:

HLT in-car video

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2012, 12:04 PM
GeorgeCo
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default HLT in-car video

I've been instructing for a couple of years and was trying to find a (relatively) inexpensive way to integrate video and telemetry data, but take the system along when I hop in a student's car too. Here's what I have so far:
  1. CruiseCam In-Car Headrest Camera Mount
  2. OptrixHD iPhone 4 case with wide-angle lens
  3. Dual XGPS150 Bluetooth external GPS
  4. PLX Devices KIWI Wifi OBD-II wireless interface
  5. Harry's Laptimer Pro software for iPhone
The CruiseCam arm mounts to the passenger side headrest. (Doesn't work in P-cars.) The Optrix HD mounts to the arm via quick release. The GPS mounts to the windshield via Velcro (everyone here has an EZpass toll device so velcro is in most cars). The PLX device plugs into the OBD-II port and the cable is stuffed away or strapped up using Velcro straps. Download the track you want to drive and Laptimer Pro starts recording automatically once you cross the designated starting point.

Anybody else use the Optrix HD and find a decent place to mount it in car without a cage and/or in a way that can be moved easily from car to car?

If I can't use the CruiseCam headrest mount, I use an external camera (in this case a ReplayXD) with a clip-mount and integrate the video to your data later. This took a little experimentation to figure out but here's a relatively painless way to do it. You just need to know the visual reference for your start/end point in Laptimer. If it's a track, it's the start/finish line. I'm using an iMac, I imagine there's a similar path for Windows.)
  1. Figure out what the format of your video file is first. If it is a format that the iPhone can understand natively, skip ahead to step #3.
  2. Convert your video to a format the iPhone will understand. In this case, convert the file from AVI to M4V using Quicktime export.