Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Which PCA to race in? Suggestions and reasons please...

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2010, 11:14 AM
Theo911
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which PCA to race in? Suggestions and reasons please...

Which PCA Class--sorry left that off my subject. I'm a relative newbie to Rennlist, primarily a lurker here. I've been DE'ing for 7 years and currently drive an 80SC with a 3.6. I think I'm ready to make the jump to Club Racing and I'm researching which class to find a car ready to race. I know this is a vague question and will receive a million answers but I'd like to know why you race in the class you do and which car do you drive? I'd like to be competitive in whichever class I choose so I know the model of Porsche is important. Assume my budget is 20-25k for a car and I'll be doing 3-4 club races per year. Thanks for your responses.
Old 09-24-2010, 11:36 AM
f1rocks
Three Wheelin'

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You're in NE so you'll likely do:

Hallet
Topeka
Hastings
High Plains

or do you want to tow farther? Do you already have a tow rig? If not, that needs to be in the budget as well.

How much track experience?
Assuming you want to run in class with more than one, look at mylaps.com data for those races and see what the largest fields are.

You've budgeted money for the car but how much for the consumables. It will be well over $1000 to $1500/race weekend for entry and consumables.

6 races a year costs me $8000 and I run the least expensive class possible.
Old 09-24-2010, 11:46 AM
Theo911
Rennlist Member

Own a tow rig and trailer already. Track experience is 20ish DE's over the past 7 years. I'll check out Mylaps for the field sizes. My early guess is I'll end up somewhere between D and F. Consumable budget would be roughly $8000 to $10000/year. Thanks.
Old 09-24-2010, 11:56 AM
good hands
Rennlist Member

Received 37 Likes on 26 Posts