Sponsored by:

Pls Help Diagnose a Spin?

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2010, 12:20 AM
CRex
Rennlist Member

Received 386 Likes on 196 Posts
Default Pls Help Diagnose a Spin?

Guys I had a rather weird spin at a local track last weekend that was too close for comfort. Track conditions were hot+dry (95 degs ambient) and coming out of a turn my car snap-oversteered after I'd gave it partial throttle past apex. (normally this would've been a full-throttle exit for most drivers)

My countersteering didn't do anything to catch the slide once it started. Can somebody please take a look and help educate a blue group driver? It's my first time running a new setup (Toyo 888s) and I'm not sure if its the hardware or the nut behind the wheel

Some have commented that I should've given it throttle to "catch" the slide. But I don't think I had the ***** to do that with the nose pointed at the inside concrete wall

FWIW, T2 on this track is not considered a "danger" spot but weirdly I was one of three spins there that day. The first spin claimed a BRAND NEW 458 (1st RHD car in HK) and you can see the tire tracks it left behind in the last 10 secs of the vid.

Any pointers would go a long way towards educating a novice driver. Thanks in advance!

p.s. the embedded video's a tad too small for the subtitles... helps to pop the video open in a new window and view it in 720p HD.

UPDATE: FULL SPEED VIDEO ADDED ON PAGE 2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DpqwJyqSJvA&hd=1

Last edited by CRex; 08-28-2010 at 12:11 PM.
Old 08-28-2010, 12:26 AM
mooty
GT3 player par excellence
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 5,827 Likes on 2,388 Posts

never been to that track
from your str angle appears you held the car too long (didn't unwind), can't tell actual speed as video is at 1/3 real time, so rear end come around. at that time you may have unintentionally decreased throttle. just my two cents
Old 08-28-2010, 12:42 AM
CRex
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by mooty
never been to that track