Sponsored by:

Tube Benders and other cage fab questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2010, 10:03 AM
Oddjob
Rennlist Member

Received 77 Likes on 59 Posts
Default Tube Benders and other cage fab questions

Whats a good brand/source of tube bender to make a couple cages?

What is the requirement or rule of thumb on bend radius for 1.5" tubing? I dont see anything in PCA rules about a minimum radius. 3 to 4 x tube OD?
Old 08-10-2010, 10:36 AM
triplezero
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default tube benders

Check out this link.
http://www.vansantent.com/tube_bending_machines.htm
I've been using the model JD2 model 4 for the past 8 years. Your bend radius is dependent on your wall thickness.
If you feel strong you can buy one of the "manuel benders"...good luck with that if your trying to bend chromoly or .120 wall...
Old 08-10-2010, 12:26 PM
Matt Romanowski
Rennlist Hoonigan
which cost no drachmas
Lifetime Rennlist

Rennlist
Site Sponsor

Received 995 Likes on 595 Posts

Check the SCCA GCR. It will answer most of your questions regarding size, thicknesses, and bend radiuses.
Old 08-10-2010, 01:25 PM
Cory M
Drifting

Received 74 Likes on 43 Posts

I also have the JD2, it's a good basic bender

In general the radius is required to be 3 times the tubing diameter for roll cages, but definitely read the rulebooks.
Old 08-10-2010, 06:35 PM
Oddjob
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by Cory M
I also have the JD2, it's a good basic bender

In general the radius is required to be 3 times the tubing diameter for roll cages, but definitely read the rulebooks.
Do you have the same JD2 Model 4 as triplezero, or one of the smaller (i.e. cheaper) models like the 3?

This would be just to build a couple cages, for 2 to 3 cars at most. So maybe only 6 bends per cage, probably less than 20 total bends before its put up for sale on craigslist...
Old 08-10-2010, 06:49 PM
Cory M
Drifting

Received 74 Likes on 43 Posts