Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Should I continue to track my Cayman S?..Will the motor grenade? Your input plz!

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2009, 09:33 PM
p997s123
Rennlist Member

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Should I continue to track my Cayman S?..Will the motor grenade? Your input plz!

I purchased a 2008 Cayman S CPO'd with 1500 miles. I purchased the car with the intent of using it as a DE car for 80% of its use. I am just beginning and run with the Blue group PCA @ Sebring. I've only completed 3 track days so far.

Last weekend I blew HUGE amounts of smoke after Bishops on 2 seperate occasions. Further research reveals this is a known problem on tracked Caymans (usually with R coumpounds: I run stock Bridgestones). There is an oil ingestion issue which can occur during high G left turns. The fix is to install a Motorsport Oil Seperator, $500 part and 12 hour shop time. Porsche will not cover this repair.

The service manager seemed to think that this should not cause a serious problem, but admitted that Porsche would not cover the motor if it grenades as long as the car had been tracked.

A friend of mine races Spec Miata (also a Porsche enthusiast). He feels that I am really taking a chance continuing to track the car if the severe smoke issue continues. Another friend who was a professional racer was driving during one of the episodes and he too expressed serious concern re: the amount of smoke.

I've read many of the threads at planetporsche.net (dedicated Cayman/Boxster site) re: this problem and as expected, views range from "this car is not designed for the track" to "my car smokes all the time and it really isn't an issue". Installing the Motorsports Oil Separator does seem to solve the problem but at a pretty high cost.