Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Rebuild Recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2009 | 01:42 AM
barkerd427
Advanced

Default Engine Rebuild Recommendations

I am new to Porsche's and 944's, but I just purchased an 89 944 Turbo for a dedicated track car. This winter I will modify it to get about 350 - 400 CHP. Then next winter I will try to get it to about 400 - 450 CHP if I think it needs it. The vehicle has 140,000 miles on it and all of the records, which show perfect maintenance. The first owner had the car until 134,000 miles and then the second owner had it for a little over a year. In the first three years the car had about 75,000 miles on it and then the yearly average tapered off drastically. I am assuming the original owner travelled a lot for work and it was probably a lot of highway driving. There is an oil leak coming from the front seal and the tbelt and water pump are due for replacement, but those are the only things I can see or hear wrong with it. I will be dynoing it soon to see how many horses are left under her bonnet. Ok, hopefully that is enough background info for these questions. I am planning on rebuilding the motor this winter, but not sure if I should just save my money and do it next winter when I will have more money for better internal parts. I haven't been able to find anything suggesting the interval for rebuilds on a modified and tracked 944 so I am not sure if it is due yet or not. I will change the leaking seals and probably the headgasket for the added boost and of course the tbelt and water pump even if I don't rebuild. At this point I will be rebuilding this winter and next. Some engines do require yearly rebuilds, is this one of them? I am assuming that I will have lost about 50 horses. How can I go about getting these back on this motor? Thanks for any help and sorry for the super long post.
Old 09-15-2009 | 04:06 AM
LDadrenaline
Racer