Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:
View Poll Results: How do you want your brakes to work?
I want high initial bite
23.73%
I want to feel some bite
44.07%
I want them linear, no bite at all
32.20%
Voters: 59. You may not vote on this poll

Brakes - Good initial bite?

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2009, 12:40 PM
Larry Herman
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Brakes - Good initial bite?

In the current and previous brake threads there is always talk about "good initial bite". What do you consider to be good initial bite, and why do you want it?

You can see where I am going with this. I am not a proponent of this concept. I want my brakes to be linear, with good release properties; not the opposite. Afterall, you don't just jam on your brakes in hard braking zone, you squeeze them on and ramp up the pressure. Then as you bend into the turn, you need to gradually get off of them. So in my book, I want the most linear stopping power that I can get, so it is predictable, and will not cause premature lockup (or ABS trigger) due to them being grabby.

Also, there are plenty of times where I am just applying minimal brake pressure to slow the car a little. The last thing that I want is for the brakes to grab and plant the car on its nose, and destroy all my momentum.

Just like I want my steering to be accurate but not darty, and I want the motor to pull smoothly throughout its range with no power surges, I want my brakes to be completely linear, providing proportional stopping power vs brake pedal effort for whatever speed or decel rate I need.

What do you look for & why?
Retired Club Racer & National PCA Instructor
Past Flames:
1994 RS America Club Racer
2004 GT3 Track Car
1984 911 Carrera Club Racer
1974 914/4 2.0 Track Car

CLICK HERE to see some of my ancient racing videos.

Old 08-28-2009, 12:45 PM
Circuit Motorsports
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist Small
Business Sponsor

Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts