Sponsored by:

NT-01 in the rain?

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2009, 12:31 PM
early_grayce
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NT-01 in the rain?

I'm relatively new to R compounds and have a set of Nitto NT-01's. I'm trying to avoid the rain but living in the Northeast makes that a bit difficult.

If there's light rain and a moist track (not pouring/soaking), should I be nervous with these tires?
Anyone have any experience with the NT-01s in the rain?
Old 07-15-2009, 12:59 PM
todinlaw
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I am always nervous in the rain. Nitto does not recommend it as a wet tire it the tread design not the compound. It does not have the grooving to channel water away. That said we were at Putnam park this weekend in the rain and people were out there with R6's. (not going vary fast) So it is like anything else, if its all you got and you are determined to run in the ran you will find they do not have a high tolerance for water.
Old 07-15-2009, 01:01 PM
Chads996
Nordschleife Master

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by early_grayce
I'm relatively new to R compounds and have a set of Nitto NT-01's. I'm trying to avoid the rain but living in the Northeast makes that a bit difficult.

If there's light rain and a moist track (not pouring/soaking), should I be nervous with these tires?

Depends highly on the surface of the track. A more aggressive tarmac it will likely be ok. But, I would rather reserve some caution as they are not specified as a rain tire by Nitto.

C.
Old 07-15-2009, 02:38 PM
4porsh
Three Wheelin'

Received 43 Likes on 27 Posts