Sponsored by:

newbie looking for track wheel/tire size advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2008, 03:23 PM
911vet
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default newbie looking for track wheel/tire size advice

I'm new to DEs, but I'm doing well and would like to switch to track tires after one or two more runs on street tires. So I'm starting my search for wheels and tires now.

I'm running stock Fuchs with 205/55x16 and 225/50x16.

Any recommendations on specific wheels I should look for?
Wheel sizes?
Tire sizes?

Thanks, guys and gals. I need all the help I can get.
Old 11-05-2008, 03:52 PM
pmgoodwin
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The advice I was given is that the last upgrade for a novice to do is track tires.

I'm spending the money I would have spent on tires to get more instruction and seat time at a local track.
Old 11-05-2008, 03:58 PM
911vet
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by pmgoodwin
The advice I was given is that the last upgrade for a novice to do is track tires.

I'm spending the money I would have spent on tires to get more instruction and seat time at a local track.
I plan to run on street tires a little while longer. But I think I want to move to track tires before the end of next season. I'd like to keep my eyes open for a set of wheels so I'm seeking advice now.
Old 11-05-2008, 04:02 PM
Potomac-Greg
Drifting

When you say track tires, do you mean R-compounds? If so, I agree with the advice to wait. But if, for example, your regular tires are all-seasons and just not up to spirited use, AND by track tires you mean street tires better suited to track use (e.g. summer performance tires) then I think there is a good reason to upgrade.

But I don't know 911 tire sizing so I'm not much help here. As to brand, I'd look at Kumhos or Hankook street performance tires. Cheap but capable.
Old 11-05-2008, 04:29 PM
911vet
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by Potomac-Greg