Sponsored by:

Wheel help badly needed...

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2008 | 12:07 AM
adfsouth
Rennlist Member

Default Wheel help badly needed...

Ok here it goes...

I'm a recent graduate to intermediate Solo and have a 2005 997S. After being patient for a while, I decided to move to up to R-comps and race pads. I've been working with CCW on a set of wheels (C10 in 9 & 12) & RA1s for the past two and a half weeks. Went through hell trying to obtain the RA1s (245/40/18 & 305/35/18) and it didn't work out as one of the rears came in with a kink in the bead. Anyway, we wound up sourcing a set of like new R888s in the same sizes so I thought all was good for this Sunday at Sebring (I've been looking forward to this for a solid month). The wheels and tires arrived today with significant extra effort on John's part.

I just spent 2 hours in my garage only to find out that the wheels I received seem to be the wrong size for a 997. I've trouble shot this every way I could and even had a more experienced track friend (advanced solo w/ Chin) come over to double check. The front wheels badly rub the shock tower (the black part that seats the spring). When bolted on (difficult), I can't even spin the wheel. Driving on it would definitely damage the tire and/or suspension. The tires are R888 in 245/40/18 and 305/35/18 so it is definitely not the tires.

I originally thought the problem was just the wrong offset, however, when I took a tape measure from on end of the front wheel to the other, it measured 10". Maybe the wheels are supposed to be measured from the inside of where the bead seals so I'm not 100% sure I'm measuring correctly. Regardless the offset is completely off. The rears seemed to fit but my friend thought they looked a bit off as well so it is quite possible they are wrong too (although no rubbing). They seemed to measure about 13" across.