Sponsored by:

Nelson Ledges Video - Critique please!

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2008, 12:19 AM
MPD47
The Carnage King
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Nelson Ledges Video - Critique please!

I'm relatively new to DE's, done some open lapping, a few years of AutoX regularly (which I stopped attending a few years ago), and some drifting up in Canada. That being said, I think this was my 4th (?) DE. I was confident behind the wheel, had been to Nelson before, was solo'd after my first session, driving a decent line, but I'm always open for suggestions on ways to improve. I know the camera angle is not the best and I KNOW I was going to wide in carousel but any other insight would be great. The car is an '89 325i with a 3.93LSD, m50NV engine, Pilot sport cups, and stock suspension/seats (PITA!).

http://www.vimeo.com/1175204
Old 06-16-2008, 12:49 AM
PedroNole
Rennlist Member

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts

First, I would move your seat closer to the wheel.... Maybe it's the size/angle of the wheel itself but it looks like you're driving a bus.

The first lap was a good lap (except for your comments about carousel). The only thing I would do differently is the set up for the last turn before the front straight (forget the turn #). I would stay left a bit more, scrub some speed and focus on later apex. Your exit speed will be faster (key to the long straight ahead).
Old 06-16-2008, 02:51 PM
///M2.8
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi Mike,
Not that I am even remotely qualified to give advice but take it for what it's worth.

I think your lines are really good and clean. I noticed in the later clip after you pointed the black Carrera S that you held a good line through 1,2&3 but followed him high into Oak Tree. I also noticed that in an earlier session that you actually clipped the inside of turn 3 and it caused your wheel to jerk. Been there, done that..on both counts