Sponsored by:

Help me start

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2008, 07:07 PM
Carnerd
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Help me start

I'm thinking heavily about club (and pro if possible) racing. Where's a good place to start/shoot for? I was thinking Skip Barber race school than buying a spec car (miata, boxster, etc...). Any other ways to go about this? I honestly have no idea where to start (what race class, organization, car, etc...).

I have about 70-80k to budget for everything (spec car, trailer, classes, track time, repair costs, etc...). Ideally, and i know they're high hopes but, i'd like to make it up to racing Cup cars (WC, ALMS, etc...). Take easy huh guys, as you can see i'm a newbie to this whole racing thing. Cheers!
Old 04-16-2008, 07:51 PM
Barfly
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I would recommend doing a search. This topic was covered very recently.

_________
Jason
Old 04-16-2008, 07:54 PM
Carnerd
Three Wheelin'

Originally Posted by pyruvate
I would recommend doing a search. This topic was covered very recently.

_________
Jason
Will do. Thanks
Old 04-16-2008, 07:56 PM
Barfly
Racer

Here is a good start:

https://rennlist.com/forums/showthre...tarting+racing
Old 04-16-2008, 08:13 PM
Carnerd
Three Wheelin'

Originally Posted by pyruvate
Read through it in its entirety. Thanks, that was perfect!
Old 04-16-2008, 09:54 PM
Barfly
Racer

It's career oriented, but there is good advice in the thread.

Good luck!
Old 04-16-2008, 10:53 PM
bobt993
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Don't do it!!!! Buy a really nice plasma tv, watch speedtv in HD. Invest the rest and we will mow your lawn to help pay for our daily meals 20 years from now.
Old 04-17-2008, 12:34 AM
Darren
Burning Brakes