Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Skiing and HPDE, is there a connection?.......

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2008, 06:53 PM
BostonDMD
Rennlist Member

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Skiing and HPDE, is there a connection?.......

I have heard from several drivers that skiing is somewhat similar to high performance driving/ racing........

I just don't see it....

Today for example, spent most of the day on the slopes at Sugar Bush, OK, granted I am a beginner, (I grew up at the ocean) and thus in my old age I am trying to learn an new trick and keep up with my wife and kids, but...... believe it or not as soon as I started picking up speed my fear factor starts increasing until I would wipe out.....

So how is it possible that speed in a track car is an adrenaline rush, total exilaration and speed on skis is scary?......

Maybe it is just me, but I just don't see connection between the two. The only explanation I have is that I have control of my track car, but no control of my skis....

Maybe I should move somewhere South where there is no snow and track events all year around........
Old 02-09-2008, 06:59 PM
JCP911S
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by BostonDMD
I have heard from several drivers that skiing is somewhat similar to high performance driving/ racing........

as soon as I started picking up speed my fear factor starts increasing until I would wipe out.....

So how is it possible that speed in a track car is an adrenaline rush, total exilaration and speed on skis is scary?......

:
Maybe its because you know how to drive, and you don't know how to ski???
Old 02-09-2008, 07:05 PM
BostonDMD
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by JCP911S
Maybe its because you know how to drive, and you don't know how to ski???
Lots of people would also argue that I don't know how to drive......
Old 02-09-2008, 07:08 PM
Bull
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts