Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Does Walter Rohrl use stability control when setting a record?

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2007, 01:31 AM
speedread
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default Does Walter Rohrl use stability control when setting a record?

When Porsche test driver Walter Rohrl sets a record at The Ring, etc. do you KNOW if he use stability management with a 996, 997, GT3, etc.? I know he has a hand in the system and uses it, but what about when setting a record lap?
Do you turn it off, and why. If you have it turned on and it doesn't kick in when you're driving fast, are you actually not going as fast as the car will go; or are you getting the 7% slip angle just fine, and not setting it off? Thus staying safe while driving truly fast?
Old 06-07-2007, 01:54 AM
mdrums
Race Director

Received 182 Likes on 129 Posts

I keep PSM (Please Save Me) on when doing DE track days. I am not a pro driver and would like any help in not wrecking my car. I did turn if off at the AutoX in order to be able to help rotate the rear around the cones. I could not tell much of a difference with it on or off. However at a auto cross there are no walls and you are going a much slower speed plus you are the only one on the course. PSM never really affected my times in a bad way.
I learned at my Porsche Sport Driving School that if you drive smooth PSM will not interfere and in the 997 the system has been moved out even further and you can slide the car around a little. This was proven to me by a few of the excellent instructor at this school like Hurley Haywood, Daniel Eatman, Cass Whitehead and Peter Litzenberger.

Last edited by mdrums; 06-07-2007 at 10:18 AM.
Old 06-07-2007, 02:38 AM
Nordschleife
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

When I have driven with Röhrl he has left stabi on. To be honest, most of the time for a top pilot its a matter of complete indifference whether its on or off.