Sponsored by:

Mid-Ohio Driving School

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2007, 01:08 AM
Jyoder240
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mid-Ohio Driving School

I am considering attending the Mid-Ohio Acura high performance course. The website says its contains:

- Classroom sessions discussing the physics and dynamics of driving.

- Braking/shifting drill

- Slalom drill

- Car control exercises with the skid car

- Autocross competition

- Full course lapping

It's $750 if I use their Acura TSX or $625 if I use my 350Z. Does anyone have any experience with anything like this? I mainly want to improve my car control skills and be able to use more of my cars potential on and off the street.

I'm a college student on a budget and a figure it's a better investment to mod the driver rather than the car. Do you think its best for pay extra for their car? How much wear and tear on my cars tires and brakes should I expect of I go that route?

I also want to be sure that i'm getting the right course for my skill level. I don't want to go spend that much money and not learn anything I don't already know. I know I'm asking a lot of questions but any imput from you guys will help. Thanks.
Old 04-10-2007, 11:21 AM
BrandonH
Rennlist Member

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Mid OH is a great school. Calvin Fish used to be chief instructor, and the other instructors were a credible, pedigreed bunch. Their skid car is a unique piece of technology which I haven't seen used elsewhere. You will learn a ton, although how much is appropriately translatable to street driving I'm not sure. I would use their cars which are well set up for the track and which the instructors are familiar with.

One tip: check and see what car clubs have events scheduled at MO. I know the Audi club uses the MO instructors for everything but lapping on their DE days; and it would be half the price.