Bieffe helmet input needed

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2002, 12:06 AM
SuperCarrera
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Bieffe helmet input needed

Hey all -- I'm brand new to RennList.

I'm about to buy my first helmet and could really use some feedback regarding two Bieffe styles I'm considering (the Integral GT and the Predator).

I would greatly appreciate anyone "out there" with personal experience with either of these giving me some input. I'm "locked" into just Bieffe as this was a Christmas gift that I am upgrading (I received an "M" rated helmet) and the dealer where it was purchased only carries Bieffe automotive helmets.

As an "FYI", I am starting in closed roof racing only in my Carrera (autocross, DE, and then possibly SCCA/Club Racing), live in the south central Florida area (heat/humidity), and would like to possibly get into go-kart racing at some point in the future (are goggles even an option with the Integral or should I just plan to get a full closed face helemt if/when I get serious about carts?). My main concern/priority is having as cool/comfortable a helmet as possible while covering the needed safety/drivability issues.

Thanks...

PS -- I also posted this exact message on the "Upgrades/Modifications" Forum as well -- is that an OK protocol for RennList?
Old 01-10-2002, 09:44 AM
E. J. - 993 Alumni
Drifting

Tim,

Get a full faced helmet. Even if you were only racing your car I would get a full helmet. The visor actually aids in fire proofing and whats the point of a nomex liner (vs. M rating) if your face is going to burn. Also protect your face from impacts - should be obvious. Now when you say you are going to add a little karting into the mix, you could wear goggles and look like the old barnstormers and maybe wear a scarf. Definately get a closed helmet.