Sponsored by:

Reflections on Winterfest...

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-2007, 10:04 AM
BluemaxxRacing
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Reflections on Winterfest...

I would love to hear about everyone else's experiences this past weekend at Winterfest so START POSTING!!

My weekend could not have gone any better. I parked my car with the Foreign Affairs camp as usual. Although I was only racing on Satruday and Sunday, the organizers let me run on Friday with the Instructor's group so that I could bed in my new Hawk HT-10 brake pads. I drove in two sessions and there was not much "rust-removal" probably since I have been driving that track since 1991. Coming onto the weekend, my previous best lap time around Sebring was a 2:30.116 done in 2003 with my old suspension. Since I have added a full GT3 race suspension and coil-overs, as well as taken out 150 lbs, I was hoping to breeak into the 2:29s.

Saturday started off with a practice session in the morning. Right out of the box, I was able to break my record by posting a fast lap of 2:29.699. This made me the 8th fastest overall in Group 2.

Next was the Qualifying session and for some reason, I put more pressure on myself here that in any of the actual races. I guess it is because I knew my car had a 2:28 in it somewhere IF I could manage a clean lap? I lined up in the back of the session with alot of slower cars ahead of me. I figured that I could pass them all and get a clean lap later in the session but I was wrong. I ended up driving in traffic the entire time and ended the Qualifying session with a dismal 2:30.920 which put me 8th overall and 4th in Class on the grid.