Sponsored by:

Nitrogen question

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2006, 09:55 AM
Boulder GT3
Racer

Received 10 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Nitrogen question

How much less does nitrogen expand vs. compressed air? If I go to the track on a cool morning of 60 degrees, by the time I get to the middle of the day at 80 degrees I will have bleed off 10-12lbs or so. What would the pressure build difference be if I was using nitrogen? Thanks.
Old 10-01-2006, 11:42 AM
mhm993
Rennlist Member

Received 222 Likes on 149 Posts

Admitting I have no factual knowledge, I wonder, since air is mostly nitrogen, can there be a big difference?
Old 10-01-2006, 11:49 AM
Boulder GT3
Racer

Originally Posted by mhm993
Admitting I have no factual knowledge, I wonder, since air is mostly nitrogen, can there be a big difference?
That's what I wonder. That said, the big advantage of nitrogen is that it does not expand and contract as much with heat. Making me a bit more skeptical is that our colorado air is low humidity to start with. nevertheless, if nitrogen will cut the pressure build up some amount I may try using it.
Old 10-01-2006, 11:57 AM
38D
Nordschleife Master

Received 830 Likes on 417 Posts

I believe that the difference has more to do with water vapor than anything else. Compressed Nitrogen has very little water vapor, so it expands very little. You can probably also put a drier on you compressor to get some benefits.
Old 10-01-2006, 12:26 PM
Alan C.
Rennlist Member

Received 1,061 Likes on 547 Posts

There was a good thread on this not long ago. One of the items noted was that it is not just simply letting the air out and filling with N2.

Do a search and you will find it. It was 2 pages long.
Old 10-01-2006, 12:35 PM
Boulder GT3
Racer

Originally Posted by Alan C.
There was a good thread on this not long ago. One of the items noted was that it is not just simply letting the air out and filling with N2.