Lap timers at DE's

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2005, 04:56 PM
tsjoel
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 133 Likes on 32 Posts
Default Lap timers at DE's

Having only done 2 DE's I realize I am a novice with much to learn. I also understand that with good technique speed will come. I sometimes go into a corner too hot and scrub some speed. When I go in slow I don't always feel like I am actually saving time but I know I am. A smooth lap should be faster than an eratic, sliding all over the place but it doesnt always feel that way. I was thinking of getting a laptimer to track my skills and how they equate to a faster lap.
Does the PCA allow laptimers at DE events?
Do instructors frown on them for group 3 students?
Do I need a transmitter or is there usually one at the track? (ultralap was the one I was leaning toward)?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Old 07-08-2005, 05:02 PM
ed devinney
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 62 Likes on 41 Posts

Some like them, some don't. At a novice level I think they don't tell much. A technique I've used to monitor progress is to check exit speed out of the corners.
Old 07-08-2005, 05:02 PM
Jon Moeller
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I don't think that any PCA club will allow you to run a lap timing system at a DE. A few of the private groups (PDA, TrackMasters, etc) allow this, but most do not for insurance reasons.

Given your time on track, I would strongly suggest that you avoid using lap times, as you could very well find time in the wrong places, and pick up bad habits that you'll spend a lot of time trying to get rid of. A far more accurate gauge is to use the cars around you. If there's a car that passes you, try to see what he's doing, or better yet, if there's a car that you're beating in the straights, but loses you in the corners, hang with him for a bit.