Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

High speed "emergency" training... how do you do it?

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2005, 09:13 PM
jgrant
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default High speed "emergency" training... how do you do it?

Hey there-

The unfortunate incident in Fontana has really got me thinking about my driver training stuff, and led me to a quick question.

How do you safely practice emergency situations like emergency braking, colission avoidance, etc., when you're doing 140+?

I'm totally new to the sport (getting hooked fast, though), and at my first DE last month we practiced the typical stuff like threshold braking, brake and avoid, slaloms, etc., but all of that was at pretty low (and safe) speeds. How do you safely practice or prepare yourself for having to do high-speed collision avoidance?

For instance, take Ben's unfortunate scenario; you're doing 150+ and a car pulls out of a lousy pit entrance and potentially into your path. You're approaching the car at 100+ relative speed, and have to avoid him.

At that speed, your controls have to be VERY smooth and limited, or else everything can go wrong in a hurry.

So, how do you practice that?

It could just as easily be a deer on the course, or a tire that came loose, etc.

I haven't been able to find anything on how (or if) people train for that.

Any thoughts? Experiences?

...jeff
Old 06-07-2005, 09:29 PM
Geo
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Jeff, while some may not agree with me, I believe the only way is to get out there and get experience. It's important to learn to be calm out there and that means not being on the verge of terror (and some folks will drive on the edge of terror just to say they are fast).