Sponsored by:

Diasio

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2004, 10:04 AM
mitch236
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Diasio

I am seriously considering purchasing a Diasio 962R. I am currently using a 1986 951. There is a small contingency of locals who may also buy, so it would make for a fun little group. No other type of car is being considered at this time. Does anyone have experience with these? Will I have to alter my driving style much? How about safety concerns? What options should I consider?

Thanks
Old 09-15-2004, 11:05 AM
howie
Instructor

Try search, colorchange asked the same question about a week ago
Old 09-15-2004, 02:17 PM
mitch236
Rennlist Member

I read that post as it was happening. The reason noone has an opinion about the 962R is that it has the new Mazda Rennesis(?) engine and none have been produced yet. I was wondering if anyone has any experience with Diasio.
Old 09-15-2004, 02:32 PM
ColorChange
Three Wheelin'

From a total newbie ... I think it will change your driving style quite a bit. Your time base will be much faster. Your lines will be different as this is a high hp/weight car. Your average track speeds will obvioulsy be much higher as the car pulls lat 2.0 g's compared to around 1.0-1.2 for you now. While the average track speeds are much higher, because the car has such low mass it can stop extremely quickly so the speed is partially mitigated by the incredible stopping power. If you watch their video, you will see the driver stop on a dime after a high speed skid (very comforting).

I do not have any direct experience from other drivers yet though.

It seams like the three choices are the Stohr, Diasio, and the R. The stock engine in the Diasio really appeals to me.
Old 09-15-2004, 03:12 PM
Jeff Curtis
Race Car

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Being that I drive and race a Diasio on a somewhat regular basis, allow me to add my two cents.