Notices
Racing & Drivers Education Forum
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DE today/tommorow - corded left tire......

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2004, 11:00 PM
CanyonBlaster
Rennlist Member

Received 28 Likes on 11 Posts
Default DE today/tommorow - corded left tire......

Anyone on the board tonight with the experience I could use some input/help:

PCA DE today (again tomorow). I ran 3 sessions as per usual, with my Victoracers's. Got home (I live 10 miles form the track), and in the driveway noticed that the left front tire is "corded" a bit on the outside 1".

This is my first set of track tires ever so I'm a noob.
Question are:

1. Is it safe to swap front tires (left to right), and do a few laps tommorow or is this tire DONE/UNSAFE?

2. Is it safe to at least drive 10 miles to the track and back?

I just don't know enough about the whole "corded" thing

The real bummer is tommorow is timed laps/ Challenge Series and I was running really strong today.

TIA
Old 07-10-2004, 11:08 PM
Petevb
Rennlist Member

Received 705 Likes on 282 Posts

I've driven 100+ miles on a corded tire before- you are at higher risk of puncture, but it's not the end of the world. I would strongly caution against driving on the track with it, though. It's done.
Old 07-10-2004, 11:10 PM
Patrick
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist
Member - times 3

Received 227 Likes on 139 Posts
Default Re: DE today/tommorow - corded left tire......

Originally posted by CanyonBlaster
Anyone on the board tonight with the experience I could use some input/help:

PCA DE today (again tomorow). I ran 3 sessions as per usual, with my Victoracers's. Got home (I live 10 miles form the track), and in the driveway noticed that the left front tire is "corded" a bit on the outside 1".

This is my first set of track tires ever so I'm a noob.
Question are:

1. Is it safe to swap front tires (left to right), and do a few laps tommorow or is this tire DONE/UNSAFE?

2. Is it safe to at least drive 10 miles to the track and back?