Sponsored by:

Thunderbolt rain line

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2019, 09:40 AM
DTMiller
Rennlist Member

Received 272 Likes on 160 Posts
Default Thunderbolt rain line

Headed to NJMP this weekend and it looks like I need to bring my Ark for Sunday. I've never driven Thunderbolt in the rain. Any unique rain line Intel for Thunderbolt or just the typical don't touch painted stuff.
Old 03-05-2019, 11:46 AM
jwasilko
Racer

Received 25 Likes on 18 Posts

I've got some experience in the rain there. There can be a large river that crosses the back straight (between 2-4) that can be significant.

In terms of curbing, the saw-cut concrete tends to be usable when it's wet (like thru the octopus head). Conversely the flat concrete curbing at driver left in the braking zone at T1 is treacherous--stay way away from it in the wet.
Old 03-05-2019, 11:56 AM
rhargy
Rennlist Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

As well as the above there can be a river on the exit of The Octopus right where you feel like you want to get on the power.
Old 03-05-2019, 12:26 PM
93 FireHawk 968
Drifting

Received 50 Likes on 39 Posts

Water can build just past bridge on left side as the track straightens as you head onto front straight. Going off there can drive you across track and into pit wall, not good.
Old 03-05-2019, 01:06 PM
alexaqui
Racer

Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts

There are a bunch of videos up on Youtube that show conditions on the track. Ones that come to mind are AER last year.

One thing that isn't obvious is that the braking zone into turn 10 is downhill. It's a common place to go off as it surprises you if you are not aware. Curbing will be slick and there will be water buildup on the inside apex of turns such as 8. Also usually water running across on the straight between 7 and 8. Watch out for Turn 2...

Practice common sense and don't fight it if you go off.
Old 03-05-2019, 01:56 PM
StoogeMoe
Rennlist Member

Received 106 Likes on 78 Posts