Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums

Rennlist - Porsche Discussion Forums (https://rennlist.com/forums/)
-   Racing & Drivers Education Forum (https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-and-drivers-education-forum-65/)
-   -   Thunderbolt rain line (https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-and-drivers-education-forum/1132203-thunderbolt-rain-line.html)

DTMiller 03-05-2019 09:40 AM

Thunderbolt rain line

Headed to NJMP this weekend and it looks like I need to bring my Ark for Sunday. I've never driven Thunderbolt in the rain. Any unique rain line Intel for Thunderbolt or just the typical don't touch painted stuff.

jwasilko 03-05-2019 11:46 AM

I've got some experience in the rain there. There can be a large river that crosses the back straight (between 2-4) that can be significant.

In terms of curbing, the saw-cut concrete tends to be usable when it's wet (like thru the octopus head). Conversely the flat concrete curbing at driver left in the braking zone at T1 is treacherous--stay way away from it in the wet.

rhargy 03-05-2019 11:56 AM

As well as the above there can be a river on the exit of The Octopus right where you feel like you want to get on the power.

93 FireHawk 968 03-05-2019 12:26 PM

Water can build just past bridge on left side as the track straightens as you head onto front straight. Going off there can drive you across track and into pit wall, not good.

alexaqui 03-05-2019 01:06 PM

There are a bunch of videos up on Youtube that show conditions on the track. Ones that come to mind are AER last year.

One thing that isn't obvious is that the braking zone into turn 10 is downhill. It's a common place to go off as it surprises you if you are not aware. Curbing will be slick and there will be water buildup on the inside apex of turns such as 8. Also usually water running across on the straight between 7 and 8. Watch out for Turn 2...

Practice common sense and don't fight it if you go off.

StoogeMoe 03-05-2019 01:56 PM