Sponsored by:

Tire Reco For Track Days

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2018, 12:33 PM
patrickkirby
Instructor

Received 34 Likes on 19 Posts
Default Tire Reco For Track Days

Looking for tire reco (Michelin PS4 vs PSC2) for mostly track days, autocross and a couple mountain drives a year. 2005 Boxster S dedicated track car with PSS-9 sport suspension, not daily driven, but driven to track events. I have some prior track experiences (4 events) not a novice and not an expert. Looking to build skills and have fun over the next year and see where it takes me. Thats for your advice.
Old 07-06-2018, 12:37 PM
golfnutintib
Rennlist Member

Received 44 Likes on 36 Posts

cups 2 are dry weather only tire... ps4 would better all arounder esp if driven in wet but less dry grip

other dry day only track tires

hankook rs4
dunlop star specs
nitto nt01
b stone re71r
Old 07-06-2018, 02:16 PM
gbuff
Rennlist Member

Received 366 Likes on 262 Posts

Originally Posted by golfnutintib
cups 2 are dry weather only tire... ps4 would better all arounder esp if driven in wet but less dry grip

other dry day only track tires

hankook rs4
dunlop star specs
nitto nt01
b stone re71r
RE71Rs are fantastic in the wet as well as the dry.

Gary
Old 07-06-2018, 02:33 PM
Quadcammer
Race Director

Received 1,371 Likes on 794 Posts

nt01
Old 07-06-2018, 02:33 PM
BillNye
Racer

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

Those are both good tires but for different reasons.
What is the "better" tire for you depends on what you want out of it. The PSC2 have more grip, less tread depth, and are more expensive. The PS4S are more comfortable, better in the rain, and probably other things.