Sponsored by:

Racing slick life

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2018, 04:58 PM
OZ951
Three Wheelin'

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Racing slick life

I'm new to racing slicks and interested to hear what others find as the competitive life of racing slicks. At this point in time I want to make sure I have my next set of slicks on hand and ready to fit by the time my current set of slicks lose enough grip to warrant changing.

I'm running Yokohama 250/650R18 A005 N2371 on my 944 Turbo.
On these tyres I've done 2 qualifying sessions, 1x20 minute race, 2x30 minutes races and 1x60minute endurance race over 2 weekends.
My setup has provided a pretty even wear pattern and temperature spread across the tyre so I don't consider there to be any adverse setup issues to reduce the tyre life.
Old 06-07-2018, 07:50 PM
Frank 993 C4S
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 802 Likes on 491 Posts

Originally Posted by OZ951
I'm new to racing slicks and interested to hear what others find as the competitive life of racing slicks. At this point in time I want to make sure I have my next set of slicks on hand and ready to fit by the time my current set of slicks lose enough grip to warrant changing.

I'm running Yokohama 250/650R18 A005 N2371 on my 944 Turbo.
On these tyres I've done 2 qualifying sessions, 1x20 minute race, 2x30 minutes races and 1x60minute endurance race over 2 weekends.
My setup has provided a pretty even wear pattern and temperature spread across the tyre so I don't consider there to be any adverse setup issues to reduce the tyre life.