Sponsored by:

Race Glove Recommendation Needed

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2018, 01:43 PM
Capt_and
Racer

Received 31 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Race Glove Recommendation Needed

I started to track at the end of last year and so I am a total rookie. Just to get an idea of experience, I run with Blue/Blue Solo in the PCA and the two other local schools and HPDE3 with NASA. This last weekend was the first time driving when it is warmer out and my sweaty hands are having a really tough time gripping the steering wheel. Between the sweaty hands and only having a 3 point harness, I find myself having to really choke the steering wheel in some corners even with high treadwear street tires. I tried on my friend's gloves to see how it would feel but noticed that they were rather bulky/thick, I believe they are Simpsons. Are there options for thinner and lighter gloves out there? I've been looking at the Alpinestar 1-ZX and OMP One Evos.

Since my hands are the only thing connected to the car that tells it where to go, I consider it a safety item and don't mind paying for a nice pair of gloves. I don't have anywhere I can go to try on a bunch of them so I am hoping some RL'ers can help me out! My problem is that my track car is a BMW m240i that has a thick padded steering wheel. I don't want gloves that are too bulky or thick where I would lose too much feedback from the steering wheel. But again, I am very new to this so maybe I have no idea what I am talking about and the bulkiness is normal and useful.
Old 03-12-2018, 01:56 PM
Bill Lehman
Three Wheelin'

Received 227 Likes on 134 Posts

These gloves are not thin and not cheap, but I really like Sparco Tide. Excellent grip under just about any condition.
Old 03-12-2018, 02:35 PM
mglobe
The Penguin King
Rennlist Member

Received 118 Likes on 84 Posts

Sparco Tide
Old 03-12-2018, 02:50 PM
PJorgen
Burning Brakes

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts