Sponsored by:

How to Clutch the CGT

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2010, 11:21 PM
MikeGT
Racer

Received 57 Likes on 19 Posts
Default How to Clutch the CGT

I have a question on using the clutch of the Carrera GT. I've raced RSR's, Cup Car, and even my own race car has something like a 4" clutch plate (I'm not technical, so if that doesn't make sense, sorry). This new "drive away" clutch used on the CGT is something I'm not familar with on how it actually works (although using this technique is quite easy unless you're on a hill): You let the clutch out slowly with no gas, and the car rolls forward and doesn't stall (wish my race car would do that while tyring to move slowly in the paddock). Giving gas to the CGT while starting off is a bit trickier and one can definately feel the difference on how the clutch engages differently. So, which is better? What if you're on a hill or slight incline? How quickly can you release the clutch using no gas and not have it in stall? Is using the drive away method best when trying to inch up a driveway (little by little trying not to scrape the spoiler)? Because I'm not technical, I'd like to hear from those who know if one method is better than the other to prolong the life of the clutch (or maybe it doesn't matter as long as you're not doing burn outs - or really reving up the RPMS before letting the clutch out).
Comments appreciated from those who know more than I. From others CGT drivers, I'd like to hear how you use the clutch under specific circumstances.

PS: Love my new CGT! Picked it up day's ago...really incredible.
Thanks.
Old 07-04-2010, 05:46 PM
bbs993tt
Rennlist Member

Received 338 Likes on 178 Posts

Hey Mike,

Congrats on your purchase!