Sponsored by:

CUP ENGINE: MORE POWER?

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2012, 12:32 AM
michaelmount123
Rennlist Member

Received 214 Likes on 133 Posts
Default CUP ENGINE: MORE POWER?

I love the Cup engine! It puts out more than 110fwhp/liter in factory stock form, runs on cheap(er) fuel, is perfectly happy at 8000rpm, lasts 100 hours, and is close to indestructible. Porsche has done an incredible job with this evolution of their 911 boxer power plant.

So, with all this performance and longevity, did Porsche leave any engine power on the table? I'm an experienced privateer engine builder and has-been racer with a strong interest in Porsche race engine development. My workplace is a fully equipped performance engine machine shop allowing in-house component design, modification, and reconditioning. There are also the proper air flow and power measurement tools to accurately verify improvements.

I undertook an engineering exercise to discover precisely what Porsche has done to develop the Cup engine, to see what improvements could be made in its legal stock form, and to test the results of an engine modified to increase power using mostly Cup components.

A 2005 Cup engine was selected as a foundation. Scientific protocol suggests starting with a fresh factory stock engine for the baseline dyno testing…. Ok, first foul: There wasn't a decent bone stock engine available, so power measurement was first recorded on a “blueprinted” 3.6 Cup run on a Dynapack chassis dyno. This was followed by a modified 3.8L based on another ’05 Cup engine and run on the same dyno.