Notices
Porsche Cup Cars
Sponsored by:

Gotta start somewhere,... (newbie seeking advice)

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2011, 04:58 AM
SSTHO
Burning Brakes

Received 149 Likes on 45 Posts
Default Gotta start somewhere,... (newbie seeking advice)

I am a Cup newbie. Looking for a track specific car and thinking about letting go the 997.2 GT3.

Can you guys direct me to some good information?

1. Can someone quantify maintenance annual maintenance costs?
2. Are there outfits that take car of maintenance, storage, transportation so I can arrive and drive?
3. I plan on getting good seat time in a car to adapt. However, I would be interested in joining some races later on. One of my good friends is in Carrera Cup Asia - he tells me OEM 997 Cup from Porsche Motorsports was the spec. However, I notice there are a lot of specs - AMLS, Grand Am, Carrera Cup, Super Cup, GT3 Rs, RSRs,... can someone detail the differences for me?

Being new to this, what would you guys suggest I go with to start getting more serious about track driving? I'll be a sponge and soak up info. TIA
Old 10-02-2011, 10:23 AM
tcsracing1
Rennlist Member

Received 256 Likes on 172 Posts

Bullet Racing in Vancouver currently run 3 997 CUP cars. 2006, 2007 and 2011.
(they also have a gaggle of 996 Koni cars)

(i think the 2007 car is looking for a new owner or renter... hint, hint)

They know these cars well and can help with coaching, logistics and service.
They would be your answer to arrive and drive either for track day education or actual race series at what ever level you feel comfortable. (follow them along their tour i assume is the name of the game)

Im thinking the same route depending on the 991 CUP platform.... (I need a sissy shifter cause the 997 CUP shifter requires skill i do not have. Hard enough focusing on driving LOL)

for 2011 i watched them put a GT3 street driver into a 2006 CUP. Very cool!

Give them a call or email as they may have the fix for your jones
Old 10-02-2011, 11:03 AM