Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Race Cars For You

Cup Newbie. Open trailer options??

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2018, 11:41 AM
zracer196
Racer

Received 171 Likes on 71 Posts
Default Cup Newbie. Open trailer options??

Sorry for all of the questions but I am a newbie at this time. LOL

I just am finalizing a deal on a 2008 cop car. I will be swapping out my 2017 Z06 Corvette that I have been tracking lately. Very excited!!!

I have been driving the Z. to the track and back. But obviously that will change. I am looking for the best, reasonable open trailer option. I have a newer jeep grand Cherokee SRT. it can tow 7500 lbs.

I am thinking something Aluminum with a winch. I have read that the front splitter is easily removed for increased clearance while loading. Thoughts?

I should have the car within a couple of weeks. I have a Sebring track day scheduled for 22 December. In the meantime do you think I could use a U-Haul car hauler? Has anybody used these with success?

Thanks again for answering my questions.
Old 11-24-2018, 02:38 PM
Frank 993 C4S
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 892 Likes on 546 Posts

Originally Posted by zracer196
Sorry for all of the questions but I am a newbie at this time. LOL

I just am finalizing a deal on a 2008 cop car. I will be swapping out my 2017 Z06 Corvette that I have been tracking lately. Very excited!!!

I have been driving the Z. to the track and back. But obviously that will change. I am looking for the best, reasonable open trailer option. I have a newer jeep grand Cherokee SRT. it can tow 7500 lbs.

I am thinking something Aluminum with a winch. I have read that the front splitter is easily removed for increased clearance while loading. Thoughts?

I should have the car within a couple of weeks. I have a Sebring track day scheduled for 22 December. In the meantime do you think I could use a U-Haul car hauler? Has anybody used these with success?

Thanks again for answering my questions.