Sponsored by:

Pirelli DH strange wear (pic inside)

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2018, 06:14 AM
spiller
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 332 Likes on 203 Posts
Default Pirelli DH strange wear (pic inside)

These were take offs that I’ve run on the rear of my 996 cup. Unsure of how many cycles but still a lot of tread depth remaining. The depth of the line is probably less than half a millimeter and runs about 1/3 the circumference of the tire in a single line and less than 1/4 in a double line. I am new to running slicks and have not seen this before. Can anyone tell me what this pattern is and what might have caused it?

Old 11-19-2018, 02:12 PM
smf32s
Rennlist Member

Received 39 Likes on 21 Posts

Loading on and off your trailer maybe.

Stu
Old 11-19-2018, 02:32 PM
Steve113
Rennlist Member

Received 262 Likes on 145 Posts

look in the fender lining . See if something is sticking out in line with where these lines are ? You didn't say whether they are fronts or rears. If rears are you spinning your tires on ramps or something that may have something sticking up?
Old 11-19-2018, 07:10 PM
spiller
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by smf32s
Loading on and off your trailer maybe.

Stu
That is a possibility as I did trailer the car to the track with these on the rear (which I have since learnt is less than ideal)! I wasnt sure if it could have been early signs of the tread de-laminating? I have had that happen on r-comps before however the line was across the tire.

Originally Posted by Steve113
look in the fender lining . See if something is sticking out in line with where these lines are ? You didn't say whether they are fronts or rears. If rears are you spinning your tires on ramps or something that may have something sticking up?