Notices

Basic Mods to Race Prepare a Street GT3?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2011, 04:50 PM
RS 987
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Basic Mods to Race Prepare a Street GT3?

If I was to prepare a 997.2 GT3 for regional class racing (SCCA and Canadian equivalent competitions), what are the 'minimum' set of modifications required for optimum performance & reliability?

I am just starting out and would appreciate a recommended list of upgrades, based on any proven race experience:

At the moment, the car has the following mods:
- RSS X-Pipe
- BMC Air Filter
- Wheel Alignment Set up for Mild Track Use
- Pagid RS Brake Pads

Considering:
- RSS Roll Cage
- Lightweight Battery
- More Aggressive Wheel Alignment Set up
?
Old 10-03-2011, 09:50 PM
Steve Weiner-Rennsport Systems
RL Technical Advisor

Received 64 Likes on 48 Posts

Hi,

You should install a good, certified roll cage, race seat, 6pt harnesses, to start.

After that, you can really improve the handling with a good set of adjustable shocks such as Motion Control, and Cup rear toe-links.
Old 10-16-2011, 01:51 AM
Turn3 Autosport
Former Vendor

Never going to argue with Steve, ever....

The RSS roll bar is a nice unit, we like them. Harnesses and a proper seat make a world of difference. You can't appreciate the difference they make until you have been on track with and with out to compare.

Get an agressive street/track alignment and then go have some fun. See how the car handles with the way you like to drive. Either adjust the car or your driving where you see fit. There are plenty of good options for spring/shock packages, brake pads, wheels, tires, toe links, upper links etc.... but get a feel for the car first and decide where you want to spend your money once safety is taken care of.

Cheers
Old 01-24-2012, 06:53 AM
lp997
Advanced

Originally Posted by GT3 BAT