Notices
Panamera 2010-Current
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Porsche San Diego

Achievement Unlocked: Rear Brake DIY, Squealing Gone!

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2024, 07:33 PM
coulter
Advanced

Received 38 Likes on 27 Posts
Default Achievement Unlocked: Rear Brake DIY, Squealing Gone!

Just got a chance to do the rear brakes on my 2017 Panamera 4 (971). Everything seemed to fall in place, no idea why dealerships charge what they do for this job. If you've done brakes before, I think you can handle it. Thought I'd give a short write up as there's not enough DIY content here. Obviously, do this at your own risk, I'm not a pro and this is not all inclusive.

I had mentioned in previous posts, the brakes squealing was driving me crazy. The pads looked like they had some life left, and Porsche claims squealing brakes are supposed to be that way, so I as worried me replacing them would do nothing. But it really became clear as I was taking them out, the lack of lube anywhere was why they were screaming. They were dry as a bone and just pulling them out made the noise. They must come from the factory that way, fairly sure these were the original pads. happy to report squeal is gone after this job. If you really wanted to just address the squealing and not replace the pads, I think you could pull the caliper off and simply lube various pressure points (specifically the guide pins) and you would resolve the issue. My pads though were about 70% gone, so I decide to just replace.