Macan 2014-Current

Radiator Issue Input Needed

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2015, 07:03 PM
ok-cami
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Radiator Issue Input Needed

Seeking input, thoughts, solutions, etc. from the Rennlist community...
Here's the story:
2015 Turbo. 15,000 miles. Meticulously cared for (don't we all?).
Drove home Wednesday after work, nothing unusual, typical highway and town road driving.
Repeat, nothing unusual.
A short time later, same evening, noticed large coolant puddle on garage floor with warning lights on dash upon start-up. Flat-bedded vehicle to dealership. Analysis today revealed ~1" hole in radiator secondary to "outside influence", such as a rock or stone causing a gash in the radiator, and therefore not covered under warranty!
$1,800 out of pocket expense to replace radiator on a 9 month old vehicle.
I have been driving for 35 years and have never experienced anything like this, much less on a Porsche SUV of which I've owned 2 previous Cayennes.
I am livid. Do I have any recourse? Is this a design flaw? Do I simply have to pay for a new radiator and hope it doesn't happen again?
Thanks guys.
Old 05-15-2015, 07:43 PM
cviles
Unique Title
Rennlist Member

Received 111 Likes on 78 Posts

This is why you have insurance on your car. Give your ins. company a call and see if they'll cover the damage. A rock or similar item kicked up by another vehicle is a "missile" and probably covered by your comprehensive insurance. Don't lie, tell them what you know, and see if they'll cover the damage.

Or, if you've been a good customer for a while you might ask Porsche for a goodwill repair. How likely this is to work depends on your relationship with your dealer, if you've been having them service your cars, buying them new, etc. No guarantees they will cover it to keep you happy though. I got PCNA to cover replacing the wiring harness on my 997 more than a year out of warranty, so it can happen.