Macan 2014-Current

is ptv necessary?

Search this Thread

Old 11-22-2017, 09:37 PM
95spiderman
Burning Brakes

Received 149 Likes on 96 Posts
Default is ptv necessary?

im considering a macan gts for dd and few hpde per year. is ptv really necessary? im an experienced instructor and will only do moderate level (at most) driving in macan. i know ptv brakes the inside rear wheel to limit understeer and im concerned it will wear out brakes. however, ptv option also includes limited slip diff. But i have a lotus that i usually track that does not have limited slip. no mclarens have it either but those are sports cars and macan is a truck. so do i have to spring for the 1500$ and brake use or can i do without? btw, i asked this in the gt3 forum and got conflicting opinions. thanks
Old 11-23-2017, 02:31 AM
KM1959
Racer

Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts

I'm all for anything that makes my car get to where I want it to go safer. If I push it too hard, or there's something slippery on the road, and PTV wears my brakes a little rather than me bouncing off a guard rail, I'm good.
Old 11-23-2017, 07:21 AM
worf928
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1,587 Likes on 1,036 Posts

Originally Posted by KM1959
I'm all for anything that makes my car get to where I want it to go safer. If I push it too hard, or there's something slippery on the road, and PTV wears my brakes a little rather than me bouncing off a guard rail, I'm good.
You are describing stability control. It is standard.
Old 11-23-2017, 10:59 AM
NC TRACKRAT
Rennlist Member

Received 443 Likes on 278 Posts

IMHO, I'd save the $1,500 and put it toward a set of track-specific tires and wheels and brake pads.
Old 11-23-2017, 12:45 PM
BradB
Drifting

Received 43 Likes on 36 Posts